Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AWARE Writing Centre: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Tips and Support

Academic Writing and Research Excellence

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global offers users access to 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, together with over 2.7 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 200,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global can be accessed via the HBKU Library Webpages.

  1. In the search bar, type ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
  2. Login using your HBKU credentials
  3. Click on ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (at the top of the page)
  4. Start searching for resources

If you are already logged into HBKU library, you can click directly on the link below:

Each month ProQuest posts the top 25 Most-Accessed Dissertations and Theses across all subjects, based upon total document views. You can check the current list by clicking here. You can also view archives to see lists from previous months.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) offers a comprehensive support package via its LibGuide pages. To simplify this process for you, links to their best resources are provided below.

For a constantly updated discussion on Dissertation and Thesis related topics, check out the PQDT blog.

Dissertations and Theses Bootcamp

PQDT eLearning Companions

Although dissertations and theses are a unique source type that all researchers can benefit from, they are also often long and complex. This presents a challenge to novice researchers who find dissertations in their topic searches but are unsure how to extract information from them. These eLearning Companions provide researchers with guidance to make consumption and navigation of dissertations easier. 

NB: If you are having any difficulty accessing these links, make sure to log into your HBKU library account.

This module outlines the value and usefulness of dissertations and theses as a source for assignment research.

This module provides information and resources to help you plan and write a dissertation/ thesis.

This module shows graduate students how to access resources and allows them to develop skills which promote effective and efficient topic research.

This module explores techniques to help you develop a productive writing plan for your dissertation/ thesis once you’ve decided on a topic. In order to do this, some myths about the dissertation writing process are debunked.

PQDT: Search Tips and Best Practices

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Searching Titles and Languages

This session reviews how students, both Masters or PhD, can use the database's advanced search to identify known dissertations by title and search/analyze by languages other than English. Duration: 3 minutes. Click here.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Searching Names

This session reviews how Students, both Masters or PhD, can use the database's advanced search to identify dissertations of known authors or advisors and further refine/analyze them. Duration: 4 minutes. Click here.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Cited References

This session reviews how Students, both Masters or PhD, can use the dissertations to retrieve and further explore the cited references. Duration: 4 minutes. Click here.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Supplemental Files

This session reviews how Students, both Masters or PhD, can identify dissertations with supplemental files which may contain useful materials for their graduate work. Duration: 3.5 minutes. Click here.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Subject Searching

This session will show students, both Masters or PhD, some Basic and Advanced search techniques to locate dissertations on a certain topic. Duration: 5.5 minutes. Click here,

Expert Advice Videos and Articles

Avoiding Bias by Starting at the Source Using Dissertations

Empowering Graduate Students to Achieve Success by Using Dissertations

Advancing Autism Research by Publishing with ProQuest