It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Academic Phrasebank is a general resource for academic writers. It aims to provide writers with examples of some of the phraseological ‘nuts and bolts’ of writing organised according to the main sections of a research paper or dissertation.
A comprehensive guide to PhD writing from Tony Lynch, English Language Teaching Centre, the University of Edinburgh.
This is for PhD students working on a qualitative thesis who have completed their data collection and analysis and are at the stage of writing up. The materials should also be useful if you are writing up a ‘mixed-methods’ thesis, including chapters of analysis and discussion of qualitative data.
This document presents lists of frequently used phrases for different sections of your paper that have a general acceptance in all disciplines. This means that they are phrases that referees and readers frequently encounter, and this will help to write your research paper using conventional language.
Vitae is the global leader in supporting the professional development of researchers. It is experienced in working with institutions as they strive for research excellence, innovation and impact.
Doing a Doctorate:
Although the practicalities of doing a doctorate differ to some extent by discipline and institution, these pages give general advice on various aspects of doing and doctorate and how to access further support and guidance.
Theses Canada, launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools, is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and nearly 70 universities accredited by Universities Canada. It strives to:
1. Acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities.
2. Provide free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations in the collection.
3. Facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection.
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
There are approximately 500,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 260,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 220,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.
This database can be accessed through HBKU Library.
ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering 5 million citations and 2.5 million full-text works from thousands of universities all over the world.
Scrivener is the go-to app for writers of all kinds, used every day by best-selling novelists, screenwriters, non-fiction writers, students, academics, lawyers, journalists, translators and more. Scrivener won't tell you how to write—it simply provides everything you need to start writing and keep writing.
A comprehensive support guide from Queen's University, Ontario, Canada.
Writing a Proposal for Your Dissertation by Steven R. Terrell
Publication Date: 2015-11-11
This user-friendly guide helps students get started on--and complete--a successful doctoral dissertation proposal by accessibly explaining the process and breaking it down into manageable steps. Steven R. Terrell demonstrates how to write each chapter of the proposal, including the problem statement, purpose statement, and research questions and hypotheses; literature review; and detailed plan for data collection and analysis. Of special utility, end-of-chapter exercises serve as building blocks for developing a full draft of an original proposal. Numerous case study examples are drawn from across the social, behavioral, and health science disciplines. Appendices present an exemplary proposal written three ways to encompass quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods designs. User-Friendly Features *"Let's Start Writing" exercises leading up to a complete proposal draft. *"Do You Understand?" checklists of key terms plus an end-of-book glossary. *End-of-chapter quizzes with answers. *Case study examples from education, psychology, health sciences, business, and information systems. *Sample proposal with three variants of the methods chapter: quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods.
How to Write an Exceptional Thesis or Dissertation by Atlantic Publishing Group Inc. Staff; J. S. Graustein
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
According to the Council of Graduate Schools, only 57 percent of students who start their Ph.D.s complete them within ten years, and many times it's the thesis or dissertation that is holding them back. In this book, you will gain insight regarding the entire research process, from organising your literature and materials most effectively to analysing and evaluating the big picture for defence. You will learn how to locate and recognise a topic that is appropriate for your thesis or dissertation, and you will discover how to expand on the subject matter to ensure it's unique and distinct from any other research out there. This book will ensure that your argument is strong, sound, and persuasive throughout your entire thesis or dissertation, from the introductory chapter through the summarising conclusive statements, and you will learn how to do so without plagiarising or cutting corners. You will master how to write ethically, objectively, and properly according to your academic subject's standards. With this book as your guide, you will even find out how your research can take you from a proposal to a published writing career. With this book, you will learn everything from the ground-level basics to the more detailed breakdown of the research process. You will gain a strong understanding of the difference between a thesis and dissertation, and you will grasp the components expected of your work -- regardless of the subject matter of your research. This book will walk you through the entire process step-by-step, teaching you how to structure a planning and writing schedule that will keep the process manageable and not overwhelming.
Writing the Doctoral Dissertation by Gordon B. Davis; Clyde A. Parker; Detmar W. Straub
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Here is the first book every prospective doctoral candidate should read. Many students have praised this title's two previous editions for their ability to convey a sense of order and structure to the formidable task of dissertation writing. This new edition has been updated to account for recent advances in digital technology and the realities of today's academic world, it presents solid advice on: Selecting an advisor and a dissertation committee Selecting a dissertation topic Investigating existing knowledge on the topic Making a dissertation proposal Budgeting and scheduling time for research and writing Working with the advisor and dissertation committee Managing dissertation activities Defending and publishing the dissertation The authors also offer detailed advice on using computer software for storing, retrieving, and analyzing data, as well as for writing the dissertation.
Writing the Qualitative Dissertation by Judith M. Meloy
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
The purpose of this book is to share, in rich detail, an understanding of how it feels and what it means to do qualitative research, and to provide support for doctoral students who choose this form of inquiry for their dissertation research.
The PHD Viva by Peter Smith
Publication Date: 2014-10-02
This indispensable book helps PhD candidates to understand the viva process and to prepare and present their work in the best possible manner. With concrete guidance, examples and activities throughout, it covers everything from the constitution of the PhD viva panel and how to prepare as the event draws closer to typical questions and how to answer them. Chapters are enriched with authentic case studies and insights from successful PhD graduates. This text is suitable for PhD and other doctoral degree students across all disciplines, and helpful to supervisors and examiners.
The Phd Experience by Evelyn Barron
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
Written by a PhD student with insights from fellow students, this clear and concise book covers every aspect of the realities of the PhD experience for prospective and current PhD students. It gives an honest inside view on the day to day experience, whilst providing practical strategies, useful tips and solid advice to support and motivate fellow students. Covers topics from the initial decision to undertake a PhD, through the different stages and finally to the decisions about what comes next.
Your PhD Coach by Jeff Gill; Will Medd
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
This book is your own personal PhD coach. It's not just about surviving your PhD, it's about thriving in the experience. Taking a unique self-coaching approach, this book will enable you to understand how to navigate your way through the various challenges posed by PhD study with resilience, self-sufficiency, and the determination to succeed. Each chapter contains self-coaching challenges so that you can discover what works for you and generate fresh ideas to enable you to move forwards, banish self-doubt, bust procrastination, and realise your full potential to make the most of your PhD experience. Your PhD Coach will enable you to: Build resilience and self-leadership Challenge yourself to be focused and achieve aspiring goals Find the right balance and nurture stronger relationships Develop your confidence, creativity and motivation Using a coaching philosophy that helps you realize your own solutions and develop your own strategies to move forward, the book is packed full of techniques, tips and tricks applicable to a wide range of circumstances both within the PhD process and beyond - an essential book for all those taking on the challenge of PhD research. "Medd and Gill go deep into the under the skin of what it is like to do a PhD, pull out the reality of the operation and offer some sound advice. They provide effective techniques to bust the 'gremlins' - the voices in the head - that can haunt postgraduate researchers and diminish the research experience. I urge all research students (and supervisors) to read this very accessible book. It will help them reflect deeper into their research experience and help build confidence in themselves and (re)gain satisfaction in their work and studies." Dr Richard Hinchcliffe, Academic Development, Centre for Lifelong Learning, University of Liverpool, UK "Coaching empowered me to reclaim my PhD and this book will enable many more students to do the same. Will Medd and Jeff Gill have a deep understanding of the PhD process and students reading this book, at any stage in their PhD, will find themselves thinking 'Wow, that is exactly how I feel!' The book challenges the inevitability of the 'PhD steam-roller' and its comfortable and chatty tone creates a friendly guide for those struggling with the demands of a PhD and inspiration for those who want to get the most from the whole experience." Beth Brockett, PhD Student, Lancaster Environment Centre, Lancaster University, UK
Completing Your PhD by Kate Williams; Emily Bethell; Judith Lawton; Clare Parfitt-Brown; Mary Richardson; Victoria Rowe; Clare Parfitt
Publication Date: 2011-07-29
This friendly guide is packed with practical, succinct advice on the core processes involved in making the final push to successfully finishing a thesis and preparing for life after submission. It contains comprehensive guidance on writing for others, presenting research, networking and preparing for the viva. Hands-on workshop activities keep students engaged and help them to develop a positive approach to overcoming hurdles. This is an indispensable guide for PhD students of all disciplines. It is also an ideal companion to Planning Your PhD.
How to Tame Your PhD by Inger Mewburn
Publication Date: 2020-08-29
Dr. Inger Mewburn, founder and editor of The Thesis Whisperer blog, shares her secrets for becoming a more productive researcher and writer. Inger finished her award-winning PhD in three years - despite having a small child, husband and demanding academic job. This book is a selection of her blog posts on thesis writing, which have been re-edited and expanded. This book introduces you to Inger's most important success strategies for getting your PhD finished and acts a companion to The Thesis Whisperer blog.
Detox Your Writing by Pat Thomson; Barbara Kamler
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
There are a number of books which aim to help doctoral researchers write the PhD. This book offers something different - the scholarly detox. This is not a faddish alternative; it's not extreme. It's a moderate approach intended to gently interrupt old ways of doing things and establish new habits and orientations to writing the PhD. The book addresses the problems that most doctoral researchers experience at some time during their candidature - being unclear about their contribution, feeling lost in the literature, feeling like an imposter, not knowing how to write with authority, wanting to edit rather than revise. Each chapter addresses a problem, suggests an alternative framing, and then offers strategies designed to address the real issue. Detox Your Writing is intended to be a companionable work book - something doctoral researchers can use throughout their doctorate to ask questions about taken-for-granted ways of writing and reading, and to develop new and effective approaches.
The Thesis Whisperer blog is dedicated to the topic of doing a PhD and completing a dissertation. It is managed and edited by Associate Professor Inger Mewburn, Director of Research Training at the Australian National University. The blog has well over half a million words of content and more than 100,000 followers over 4 social media channels. The blog has been viewed over 7 million times with over 16 thousand comments.
This blog is part of the Research Exchange at the University of Warwick. Its objective is to create an online PhD community not only for Warwick students but also for anyone and everyone in this lovely world of ours who identifies with any of the following: pre-PhD, PhD, post-PhD.
This is a list of other PhD blogs. In many of these blogs students share their PhD journeys, and some have continued to blog after they finished. If you fancy blogging yourself, you may find a potential format among the various options provided.
This online study room, which is freely available, can motivate you and help you make progress with your writing. It can be used almost like a library: a silent space to work alongside others.
The room is open 24/7 and it is mostly unmoderated and unstructured; however, there are structured sessions on Wednesdays and Saturdays. More information can be found on the site/ in the room. You can choose to follow the writing schedule on those days, or you can ignore it. The space is yours to make it work for you. Why don't you give it a try!
CORE is a not-for-profit service delivered by The Open University and Jisc.
CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Érudit is a Quebec non-profit publishing platform. Founded in 1998, it publishes research in the humanities and social sciences (in English and French), as well as select physical and natural science journals. The organization is a consortium of Université de Montréal, Université Laval, and Université du Québec à Montréal.
ImaginePhD is a free online career exploration and planning tool for PhD students and postdoctoral scholars in the humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and social sciences PhD students and their mentors have long recognized the need for more resources to help bridge the knowledge gap between doctoral education and the realm of career possibilities. ImaginePhD is designed to meet this need by allowing users to:
• assess their career-related skills, interests, and values
• explore careers paths appropriate to their disciplines
• create self-defined goals
• map out next steps for career and professional development success
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Applied Linguistics provides accessible and concise explanations of key concepts and terms related to research methods in applied linguistics. Encompassing the three research paradigms of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods, this volume is an essential reference for any student or researcher working in this area. The book provides A–Z coverage of 570 key methodological terms from all areas of applied linguistics; detailed analysis of each entry that includes an explanation of the head word, visual illustrations, cross-references to other terms, and further references for readers; in addition to an index of core concepts for quick reference. Comprehensively covering research method terminology used across all strands of applied linguistics, this encyclopedia is a must-have reference for the applied linguistics community.
Mixed Methods Research in Language Teaching and Learning by A. Mehdi Riazi
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Mixed methods research (MMR), where quantitative and qualitative methods are combined in the collecting and analysing of research data, is gaining increasing prominence and utility across a range of academic disciplines including applied linguistics and language teaching and learning. This volume is the first to examine MMR in language teaching and learning and how such a methodology works in practice. The book brings together all the main topics related to MMR in one place and attempts to elaborate on and discuss them in plain language to help researchers better understand and use the methodology. In addition to detailed discussion of the theoretical (for example, the worldviews underlying MMR) and practical (purposes, designs, data collection and analysis), the book presents a framework for analyzing MMR (FRAMMR) studies. In the third section of the book where FRAMMR is presented, eight published MMR articles addressing different topics in language teaching and learning are analysed and eight more are suggested to be analysed by the readers using FRAMMR. Another salient feature of the book is Chapter 7 in which writing MMR proposals is discussed. The chapter should be of particular interest to postgraduate and doctoral students as well as early career researchers who will be preparing thesis and/or research proposals. Given the scarcity of resources on MMR in applied linguistics in general, and language teaching and learning in particular, the current volume can fill this gap to a great extent. Attempt has been made to present a coherent and transparent discussion of sometimes confusing MMR issues and topics. As a newly developed research methodology, MMR poses its own challenges to researchers. These challenges are also discussed in different chapters of the book so that researchers can consider them when planning for and implementing MMR projects.
Authoring a Ph. D by Patrick Dunleavy
Publication Date: 2003-04-28
This engaging and highly regarded book takes readers through the key stages of their PhD research journey, from the initial ideas through to successful completion and publication. It gives helpful guidance on forming research questions, organising ideas, pulling together a final draft, handling the viva and getting published. Each chapter contains a wealth of practical suggestions and tips for readers to try out and adapt to their own research needs and disciplinary style. This text will be essential reading for PhD students and their supervisors in Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences, Business, Law, Health and related disciplines.
Finish Your Dissertation, Don't Let It Finish You! by Joanne Broder Sumerson
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
An all-inclusive, practical guide to help you design, conduct, and finish your academic dissertation--with minimal drama Sharing the secrets for successfully navigating through the dissertation and thesis process while maintaining your sanity, Finish Your Dissertation, Don't Let It Finish You! presents comprehensive coverage of the entire dissertation process, from selecting a committee and choosing a research topic to conducting the research and writing and defending your dissertation. Joanne Broder Sumerson follows the sequential flow of a dissertation, to help you move through the process in a logical, step-by-step manner, with an abundance of practical examples and useful tips on: Proper dissertation etiquette--smarts and strategies for managing the committee Breaking ground on your study The anatomy of the five chapters of your dissertation Making a compelling argument for why your study should be done Creating an exemplary literature review The best practices in research design Getting official approval from the Institutional Review Board Organizing your freshly collected data Concluding your dissertation Presenting a smooth oral defense
Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation by William A. (Arthur) Rouse; Randy L. Joyner; Allan A. Glatthorn
Publication Date: 2012-11-26
The classic for master′s and doctoral students-newly revised and updated! Completing your master′s thesis or doctoral dissertation can be a daunting task. Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation, Third Edition, demystifies the process, helping you prepare your scholarly work. This experience-based, practical book takes you through the process one step at a time! Newly revised and updated, this edition uses a step-by-step approach, providing specific models and examples that will take you through the complex writing process. Major topics included are: " Laying the groundwork for the thesis or dissertation " Organizing and scheduling your work " Collaborating with peers " Using technology " Solving problems throughout the dissertation process This excellent resource, used in its first two editions by tens of thousands of students, will provide you with clear direction for structuring a winning thesis or dissertation.
Our Dissertations, Ourselves by Christine Sorrell Dinkins; Jeanne Merkle Sorrell
Publication Date: 2014-02-20
Twenty women from nine disciplines share the common experiences, emotions, challenges, and transformations that come from writing a doctoral dissertation. Designed to invite readers into shared experiences, this book provides support and practical guidance for women writing dissertations, their advisors, and all those on the journey with them.
English for Writing Research Papers by Adrian Wallwork
Publication Date: 2016-03-18
Publishing your research in an international journal is key to your success in academia. This guide is based on a study of over 1000 manuscripts and reviewers' reports revealing why papers written by non-native researchers are often rejected due to problems with English usage and poor structure and content. With easy-to-follow rules and tips, and examples taken from published and unpublished papers, you will learn how to: prepare and structure a manuscript increase readability and reduce the number of mistakes you make in English by writing concisely, with no redundancy and no ambiguity write a title and an abstract that will attract attention and be read decide what to include in the various parts of the paper (Introduction, Methodology, Discussion etc) highlight your claims and contribution avoid plagiarism discuss the limitations of your research choose the correct tenses and style satisfy the requirements of editors and reviewers This new edition contains over 40% new material, including two new chapters, stimulating factoids, and discussion points both for self-study and in-class use. EAP teachers will find this book to be a great source of tips for training students, and for preparing both instructive and entertaining lessons. Other books in the series cover: presentations at international conferences; academic correspondence; English grammar, usage and sty≤ interacting on campus, plus exercise books and a teacher's guide to the whole series. Please visit http://www.springer.com/series/13913 for a full list of titles in the series. Adrian Wallwork is the author of more than 30 ELT and EAP textbooks. He has trained several thousand PhD students and academics from 35 countries to write research papers, prepare presentations, and communicate with editors, referees and fellow researchers.
How to Survive Your Viva by Rowena Murray
Publication Date: 2015
How to Survive Your Viva is a concise, practical introduction that equips students with the skills they need to defend their thesis or dissertation.
Women Supervising and Writing Doctoral Theses by Lia Bryant (Editor, Contribution by); Katrina Jaworski (Editor, Contribution by); Valerie Adams (Contribution by); Christine Beasley (Contribution by); Judith Gill (Contribution by); Margaret Rowntree (Contribution by); Mary-Helen Ward (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2015-04-09
Walking on the Grass brings to life women's experiences during their doctoral study and the experiences of women who supervise doctoral students. Sensations, reflections, and imaginations emerge through memories, histories, and different ways of narrating academic journeys. This book examines in depth, the emotional and embodied nature of writing, supervising, and inter-subjective learning. It makes visible ethics of care required in that liminal space in which supervisors and doctoral scholars work to shape and give confidence to the becoming academic. The book works through the politics of gender, sexuality, age, class, and ethnicity to understand meanings inherent in doctoral and supervisory relationships, reasons for entering academe, and how academic writing obtains form and content. The significance of the book is its contribution to understanding academic thesis writing as complex emotional and embodied gendered labor rather than an instrumental activity in which to earn the title of Doctor of Philosophy.
Research Design by John W. Creswell
Publication Date: 2013-03-14
The eagerly anticipated Fourth Edition of the title that pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design is here! For all three approaches, Creswell includes a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research approaches, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. He also presents the key elements of the research process, giving specific attention to each approach. The Fourth Edition includes extensively revised mixed methods coverage, increased coverage of ethical issues in research, and an expanded emphasis on worldview perspectives.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by Luke Sloan (Editor); Anabel Quan-Haase (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-02-27
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods offers a step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with "big and broad data," from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings. This handbook includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo, and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters. The holistic approach is organized into the following sections: Conceptualizing & Designing Social Media Research Collection & Storage Qualitative Approaches to Social Media Data Quantitative Approaches to Social Media Data Diverse Approaches to Social Media Data Analytical Tools Social Media Platforms The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods is the single most comprehensive resource for any scholar or graduate student embarking on a social media project.
Theory and Methods in Social Research by Cathy Lewin (Editor); Bridget Somekh (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-01-28
This new edition provides a scholarly and readable introduction to all the key qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and methods, enabling postgraduate and masters-level students and new researchers to reflect on which ones suit their needs and to receive guidance on how to find out more. With chapters written by experienced research practitioners, this second edition has been extensively expanded and updated. There are seven completely new chapters, as well as: new material on literature reviews a new introduction to quantitative methods an expanded glossary weblinks with free access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journal articles an annotated bibliography with conversational notes from authors in each chapter. This book will act as your 'expert friend' throughout your research project, providing advice, explaining key concepts and the implications for your research design, and illustrating these with examples of real research studies. Praise for the first edition: "Not merely a how-to book, it reviews the conceptual framework of research methods in the social and behavioural sciences and provides tangible stories from the field that illustrate the application of specific techniques and the process of conducting research. . . . This work affords a concise overview of qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the social science. . . . Highly recommended." R.V. Labaree University of Southern California CHOICE Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Research Methods by Julia Brannen (Editor); Pertti Alasuutari (Editor); Leonard Bickman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009-06-16
The SAGE Handbook for Social Research Methods is a must for every social-science researcher. It charts the new and evolving terrain of social research methodology, covering qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods in one volume. The Handbook includes chapters on each phase of the research process: research design, methods of data collection, and the processes of analyzing and interpreting data. As its editors maintain, there is much more to research than learning skills and techniques; methodology involves the fit between theory, research questions, research design, and analysis. The book also includes several chapters that describe historical and current directions in social research, debating crucial subjects such as qualitative versus quantitative paradigms, how to judge the credibility of types of research, and the increasingly topical issue of research ethics. The Handbook serves as an invaluable resource for approaching research with an open mind. This volume maps the field of social research methods using an approach that will prove valuable for both students and researchers.
Theories and Methodologies in Postgraduate Feminist Research by Rosemarie Buikema (Editor); Gabriele Griffin (Editor); Nina Lykke (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-05-25
This volume centers on theories and methodologies for postgraduate feminist researchers engaged in interdisciplinary research. In the context of globalization, this book gives special attention to cutting-edge approaches at the borders between humanities and social sciences and specific discipline-transgressing fields, such as feminist technoscience studies.
Research Methods in Cultural Studies by Michael Pickering (Editor); Gabriele Griffin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-02-22
This new textbook addresses the neglect of practical research methods in cultural studies. It provides students with clearly written overviews of research methods in cultural studies, along with guidelines on how to put these methods into operation. It advocates a multi-method approach, with students drawing from a pool of techniques and approaches suitable for their own topics of investigation. The book covers the following main areas:* Drawing on experience, and studying how narratives make sense of experience.* Investigating production processes in the cultural industries, and the consumption and assimilation of cultural products by audiences and fans.* Taking both quantitative and qualitative approaches to the study of cultural life.* Analysing visual images and both spoken and written forms of discourse.* Exploring cultural memory and historical representation.The contributors, along with Michael Pickering, are Martin Barker, Aeron Davis, David Deacon, Emily Keightley, Steph Lawler, Anneke Meyer, Virginia Nightingale, and Sarah Pink. The book is designed for use by students on upper-level undergraduate and taught Masters-level courses as well as postgraduate research students and cultural studies researchers more generally. It will be of enormous value across all fields of study involved in cultural enquiry and analysis.
Research Methods for Digitising and Curating Data in the Digital Humanities by Matt Hayler (Editor); Gabriele Griffin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
As all scholars increasingly use digital tools to support their research, and every internet user becomes used to data being available, elucidating, and engaging, the creative aspects of Digital Humanities work are coming under increasing scrutiny. This volume explores the practice of making new tools, new images, new collections, and new artworks in an academic environment, detailing who needs to be involved and what their roles might be, and how they come together to produce knowledge as a collective. The chapters presented here demonstrate that creation is never neutral withpolitical and theoretical concerns intentionally or unavoidably always being written into the fabric of what is being made, even if that's the seeming neatness of computer code. In presenting their own creative research, the writers in this volume offer examples of practice that will be of use toanyone interested in learning more about contemporary Digital Humanities scholarship and its implications.