Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arabic-English Dictionary by
Call Number: REF PJ6640 .W43 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
The scholarship, accuracy and reliability make this one of the most significant contributions to Arabic lexicography.
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary by
Call Number: REF PJ6640 .O94 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-05
The Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary is a brand-new compact Arabic-English and English-Arabic dictionary that offers up-to-date coverage of all the essential day-to-day vocabulary, with over 16,000 words, phrases, and translations. This dictionary is easy to use and ideal for students,travel, and quick reference. Designed for both native English and Arabic speakers, the supplementary sections offer guidance on Arabic verbs and irregular verbs.
Elias Modern Dictionary by
Call Number: REF PJ6640 .E4 2008
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Since it was first published, 'Elias Modern Dictionary' has been in the forefront of contact between English and Arabic languages and cultures. This highly reliable reference remains an indispensable tool for students, translators and lexicographers of both languages.
A Frequency Dictionary of Arabic by
Call Number: PJ6635.B83 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
A Frequency Dictionary of Arabic is an invaluable tool for all learners of Arabic, providing a list of the 5,000 most frequently used words in Modern Standard Arabic (MSA) as well as several of the most widely spoken Arabic dialects.
Colloquial Arabic of the Gulf by
Call Number: PJ6853 .H64 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-25
Revised and updated edition for an self-study and classroom use.Offers a step-by-step approach to spoken Arabic of the Gulf and introduction to reading signs, business cards, advertisements, etc.
The Concise Arabic-English Lexicon of Verbs in Context by
Call Number: PJ6145 .H37 2011
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Contains more than 3,500 Arabic verbs from 1,450 verb roots. Entries feature concise English definitions, the perfect and imperfect tenses and verbal noun of each verb, and carefully crafted context sentences to illustrate the correct usage and clarify the meaning. An index of English definition helps the user navigate the entries.
Arabic-English Thematic Lexicon by
Call Number: PJ6640 .N46 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-25
The Arabic-English Thematic Lexicon is an invaluable resource for all learners of Arabic. It contains some 8,000 entries, arranged into themes, including flora and fauna, food and drink, the human body, health care, the family, housing, clothing, education, IT, sports, politics, economics and commerce, the law, media, language, geography, travel, religion, arts, science, and natural resources. Three appendices cover the names of Arab and selected non-Arab regions, countries and capitals, and international organizations. Complements Arabic grammar instruction and also serves as a useful reference guide for all Arabic language users.
A Reference Grammar of Modern Standard Arabic by
Call Number: PJ6303 .R93 2005
Publication Date: 2005-08-25
Keeping technical terminology to a minimum, this comprehensive handbook provides a detailed yet accessible overview of Arabic wherein its phonology, morphology and syntax can be readily accessed. Accompanied by extensive examples, it will prove an invaluable practical guide for supporting students' textbooks, classroom work or self-study, and a useful resource for scholars and professionals.
Developing Writing Skills in Arabic by
Call Number: PJ6307 .A757 2012
Publication Date: 2013-01-28
Designed for upper-intermediate to advanced students who need to write Arabic for personal, professional and academic purposes. Making use of reading comprehension, analysis of stylistic devices, a functional approach to grammar and well-graded exercises, the book exposes the student to a wide variety of styles and register.