Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Translation Studies: Source & Target Resources

Resources for the MATS and MAAT programs

Is it translated?

INDEX TRANSLATIONUM 

A UNESCO database that identifies and provides bibliographical information on books translated and published in UNESCO member states since 1979. The database allows you to search for all translations from one language to another by date, author, subject or word from the original title.  

See also UNESCO’s Most Translated List

Find the following print resources in the Library's reference section:

Source & Target Resources

BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ARABIC BOOKS ONLINE- BRILL 

Covers publications in Arabic published before 1960 from The British Library, The National Library of Egypt, and The Library of Congress.

GALLICA 

Digitized collection of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

HATHITRUST DIGITAL LIBRARY

Digitized materials from major US libraries.

INDEX ISLAMICUS

Indexes literature on Islam and the Middle East.

INTERNET ARCHIVE TEXT ARCHIVE.

Access more than a million free texts

INTERNET PUBLIC LIBRARY ONLINE TEXTS FOR LITERATURE

Includes a list of the main collections of free e-books available.

PROJECT GUTENBERG

Access to over 36,000 free books to download to your PC, e-reader or mobile device.

WORLD DIGITAL LIBRARY

Digitized collection of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Adab                                                                              

This Arabic poetry website hosts poems and poets from the classical to the modern period.

Al-Hakawati                                                                 

Stories & tales, poetry, states, cities & regions, histories & culture, and religions from 22 Arab states.

Al-Jadid: A Review and Record of Arab Culture and Arts  

Includes articles on arts; book reviews; essays and features; fiction; film; interviews; music and dance; poetry; and theatre.

Al-Waraq                                                                      

Online Arabic literature including audio classical stories.

Banipal

"The most open, daring, democratic and attentive magazine of modern Arabic literature” – Anton Shammas

Gender Issues and Literature in the Middle East    

Full text articles, prose, and poetry in Arabic, Turkish, Hebrew, and Persian.

Gulf Poets                                                                     

Works by popular poets from the Gulf region. 

House of Poetry                                                          

From the Palestinian Cultural Center and includes links to poets' biographies, Akwas magazine, al-Shuara magazine, news

Jehat                                                                              

Personal profiles for poets and lists recent titles in Arabic literature.

Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies                 

Publishes articles on Arabic linguistics, culture, literature, poets, and religion.

No man's land links -  Translation Magazines     

Literary translation magazines

UNESCO LITERATURE AND TRANSLATION    

UNESCO's Clearing House for Literary Translation

Words Without Borders                                             

Translates, publishes, and promotes contemporary international literature

Meedan

A bilingual news-sharing site with English and Arabic translations.

Arab Media & Society - American University

Full text articles in English discussing the role of the media in Arab society.

Paperboy

Access to 6371 online newspapers from around the world.