Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Translation Studies: Reviews

Resources for the MATS and MAAT programs

Reviews

Research Databases

Find reviews from newspapers and literary magazines indexed in the followng databases:

Web Resources

Complete Review

  • Lists reviews from different literary magazines and newspapers on individual titles

Goodreads Translations

  • Social cataloging - provides reviews of popular translations
Subject-specific:

Arab Organization for Translation

Institute based in Lebanon specializes in translations and includes brief description of translated titles.

General Collections:

Online Reviews

e-Marefa

Arabic language research database that includes book reviews from various  sources.

Reviews in Literary magazines

Al Doha Magazine (Qatar)

Akhbar Al-Adab (Cairo)

Alif: Journal of Comparative Poetics 

Print copies available in library (2014-) and indexed and full text available through JSTOR

Ribat al Koutoub

Reviews in Newspapers

Alhayat  (Pan-Arab audience, based in London)

Albayan (UAE)

Subject-specific

Print resources:

The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation REF PR131.094 2000 

Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English - REF PN241 .E56 2000 (v.1  & v.2)

Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies REF P306 .E57 2009

The Oxford History of Literary Translation in EnglishREF PR131 .O944 2005   (v.1-4)

Web resources:

Annotated Bibliography of Translated Titles Online

Reviews of translations published in Translation Review, University of Texas Dallas.

Banipal

Includes reviews of of the latest works by Arab authors, either from their original editions or as published in translation

Best Translated Book Award

Sponsored by the University of Rochester and awarded to the best original translation (into English) published that year for fiction and poetry.

Words Without Borders

Promotes and reviews translations of world literature into English.

General Collections

Find reviews from newspapers and literary magazines indexed in the followng databases:

Proquest Central

Includes full text and citations of book reviews from various sources including literary magazines and newspapers, for example, The Guardian, New York Times, Times Literary Supplement, Harper Bazaar, The New Yorker, etc.

Literature Resource Center  

Includes full text of the TLS: The Times Literary Supplement

Novelist Plus – (EBSCO)    

Novelist Plus is a reading guide and advisory tool suitable for all age groups.  It contains recommendations for fiction and nonfiction, author read-a-likes, book discussion guides, award lists, book cover images, and nearly 40,000 first chapter excerpts. 

Web Resources

Complete Review

Lists reviews from different literary magazines and newspapers on individual titles

Goodreads Translations

Social cataloguing - provides reviews of popular translations

Reviews of our Fiction Collection